New Hampshire County Map

County Information

County Summary

There are a total of 10 counties in New Hampshire.

Belknap County

Belknap County is located in central New Hampshire and covers a 466.6 square mile area including; Alton, Barnstead, Belmont, Center Harbor, Gilford, Gilmanton, Laconia, Meredith, New Hampton, Sanbornton, and Tilton. The County borders on the western shores of Lake Winnipesaukee and, along with Carroll County on the eastern shore of the Lake.

Carroll County

Carroll County is located in the center of New Hampshire along the eastern border. It is between the White Mountain National Forest to the north, and Lake Winnipesaukee to the south. It is a rural environment close to most urban New England cities.

Cheshire County

Cheshire County, New Hampshire encompasses 23 towns and 729 square miles in the southwestern corner of the state. Two rivers, the Connecticut and Ashuelot run through the county. Mt. Monadnock (3,165ft) is located in Cheshire County.

Coos County

Coös County is the northern most and the largest county in New Hampshire and comprises about 20% of the land area in New Hampshire, about 1,800 square miles. It is bordered by Vermont to the west, Maine to the east and Canada to the north.

Grafton County

Grafton County is New Hampshire’s second largest county geographically, with 1713 square miles, about 1.1 million acres. Grafton County comprises nearly one-fifth of the state and is located in the west central portion of New Hampshire. It shares almost 90 miles of the Connecticut River with Vermont and borders, Carroll County to the east, and Sullivan, Merrimack and Belknap Counties to the south and Coos County to the north. Over half of the White Mountain National Forest is in Grafton County. There are thirty-eight towns and one unincorporated township in the county. Grafton County as part of the Appalachian Mountain Range.

Hillsborough County

Hillsborough County is the most populous county in New Hampshire and includes the Manchester-Nashua Metropolitan area. The county has a total area of 892 square miles. The highest point in the county is Pack Monadnock Mountain at 2,290 feet.

Merrimack County

Merrimack County is the third-most populous county in New Hampshire and includes the Concord, New Hampshire Micropolitan Area. It covers a total area of 956 square miles and is the third-largest land-area county in New Hampshire. The highest point in the county is Mount Kearsarge, bording Warner and Wilmot, at 2,937 feet

Rockingham County

Rockingham County is New Hampshire’s second-most populous county. The county has an area of 795 square miles and its highest point is Nottingham Mountain, at 1,340 feet in Deerfield. The county borders all of New Hampshire’s Atlantic coast, about 18 miles, the shortest ocean coastline of any one of the united states.

Sullivan County

Sullivan County is the second-least populous county in New Hampshire, located in south eastern New Hampshire in the Claremont-Lebanon, New Hampshire/Vermont area.

Strafford County

Strafford County is comprised of three cities: Dover, Rochester, and Somersworth; and ten towns: Barrington, Durham, Farmington, Lee, Madbury, Middleton, Milton, New Durham, Rollinsford, and is the fourth largest county in population. Strafford County is in southeastern New Hampshire. It comprises 384 square miles and is the smallest county in New Hampshire by area.